PDA

View Full Version : Sump or not

mauls
04/20/2008, 12:05 PM
Hello, I've had my tank running for about a month now, the cycle is getting real close to complete.

tank is 75 gallons, with 70lbs of live sand, and 40lbs of live rock (plan to upgrade when I get more $$)

Anyways I have several spare 10 and 20 gallon tanks from old freshwater days. My questions.

Should I make a sump for my tank?

Should I use a 10gal or 20 gal, and how do I build a sump out of them.

What types of pumps and pipes should I get, I've never ran a sump in my life so I am a complete newb at them. I'd also like to start a fuge as well.

I'm on college funds, so let me know what pumps I could get by with the cheapest route possible.

Thanks in advance

Shawn

IslandCrow
04/20/2008, 12:31 PM
I'd definitely use the 20g as opposed to the 10g. I use a 20g long tank for my 46g and it's pretty cramped. My total system volume (refugium/frag tank, main tank and sump) is around 100g, and the 20g sump is just barely big enough to handle the water volume without risk of overflow. As a note, don't use any tank you've ever treated with copper.

As far as the setup of the sump, it can be simple or complex. A simple sump would have a drain line from the main tank (either drilled into the back of the tank or connected to a hang on back (HOB) overflow) that empties into the sump. Then a medium sized pump would push the water back up to the main tank. Generally, about 4-5x your total water volume is moved through the sump. In other words, a 75g tank + 20g sump would have 380-475 gph going back up to the main tank. You may want to take a look at http://www.melevsreef.com/allmysumps.html for some ideas. Some of his designs are a bit intricate, but it will give you some ideas.

Aquarist007
04/20/2008, 12:34 PM
to quote one of the most knowledgeable guys on here:

Here are the numerous benefits derived from incorporating a sump into your current setup: