PDA

View Full Version : Clownfish are on their way... (questions)

Poisonus Yeti
04/24/2008, 09:24 AM
Hi everyone,

I have a few questions concerning the fish that should be arriving tomorrow so if you have any input whether it be from research or experience please enlighten me. I am still fairly new at this hobby so any help is appreciated.

I have two clownfish ( ~1" ea.) and a blue regal tang (small) arriving tomorrow from live aquaria. I have a 20 gallon QT tank ready to go, waiting for their arrival.

Now on to the questions (I'm sure there will be more):

Is it ok to QT these three fish together?

My plan is to treat both species of fish with hyposalinity for 4 weeks, is this recommended?

Should I treat the two clownfish (before entering the QT tank) with a formalin dip to prevent brooklynella?

I'm probably worrying too much (hard not to with all these stories about disease on RC!) but I want to create/maintain a healthy environment for these fish. So I thank you for your replies to these possibly silly questions that have more than likely been asked/answered a thousand times here on RC!

-Yeti

wicked_NaCl_h2o
04/24/2008, 09:35 AM
congratulation's on your new clownfish ..what kind of clownfish are they?

Toddrtrex
04/24/2008, 09:41 AM
I personally don't QT (( Yes, I know, but it is a choice I have made, and it works for me )), so take what I say with a grain of salt. ( pun intended ) I would not do hyposalinity unless you notice something on the fish that would make you need to do that. See no reason to add to their stress until you have too. Use the QT as a means to watch them and then treat if necessary.

Poisonus Yeti
04/24/2008, 09:56 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=12400670#post12400670 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by wicked_NaCl_h2o
congratulation's on your new clownfish ..what kind of clownfish are they?

Thanks!! They are amphiprion percula and I am very excited!

Poisonus Yeti
04/24/2008, 10:03 AM