PDA

View Full Version : chiller question guys...


jlone101
04/24/2008, 05:51 PM
i got this chiller....
http://www.marinedepot.com/ps_ViewItem~action~view~idProduct~JB1131~idCategory~FICHINQC~category~Saltwater_Aquarium_Supplies-Chillers-In_Line-1_4_HP___Less~vendor~.html
now i am trying to figure out what i need besides tubing? How will i keep for the tubes slipping out...any sort of tricks? also do i need a pump for this chiller...if so...what pump would be fine??? thanks...

jlone101
04/24/2008, 05:52 PM
oh yea...what sort of chiller tubing will i need? thanks

doubleduece
04/24/2008, 07:29 PM
I believe that the fitting that come on the chiller are a compression type fitting, as far as tubing goes the chiller is probably 1/2". Lowes or HD sells poly tubing, and it should be ok. As far as a pump goes it depend on how you are planning on instaalling it. That chiller is rated for 110 to 160 gph, to little or to much water flow will affect the operation of the chiller. If you have a sump you could having it flow in and out of the sump, but you would need a seperate pump. If you tie it in series with a return pump, that pump cannot exceed or be less then the spec.

Good luck

Iostream
04/24/2008, 09:19 PM
You could use something like this connection kit (http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=JBJ-DBI-IK&Category_Code=JBJ) made specifically for those chillers. Many people use a MJ1200 or similar to drive it.

jlone101
04/26/2008, 01:23 AM
no i don't have a sump...so MJ1200 right??

ReD_GatOr
04/26/2008, 01:51 AM
is a maxi1200 gonna have enough head to push it back up?? i have seen those kits.. pretty cool

Iostream
04/26/2008, 07:11 AM
MJ1200 has enough power when you are driving it as a closed loop through the chiller. There is no head loss in a closed loop, only friction loss.