PDA

View Full Version : New to the fishy world

conofrad69
05/10/2008, 11:39 PM
Hello every one I am very new to the Hobby of salt water, I used to have an aggressive fresh water but i am learning that salt is much more in depth then fresh, any way i have many inverts and they are doin well, but i would like to know how to get my clown fish to eat i tried to buy tank bred but ended up getting wild caught, they dont seem to eat anything and like to spit most of the food out plus they stay in the rear of the aquarium, my next question is how do i get rid of the red slime on a few of my rocks
my aquarium is a 24 gallon Nanocube and no corals as of yet tryin to start slow and any help would be juswt fantastic
Thanks All

Flipper62
05/10/2008, 11:58 PM
As for food, Try Cyclope-EEz...or Rods Food

uscharalph
05/11/2008, 12:25 AM
How long has the clown been in the tank? What other fish do you have?

kau_cinta_ku
05/11/2008, 12:42 AM
how long has the tank been setup?

btw [welcome]

Lotus99
05/11/2008, 02:04 PM
Almost all fish will eat mysis shrimp. If they're picky, soak it with a piece of garlic before feeding. Very small clowns (less than 1.5 inches) might have problems with the size of whole mysis, so you may have to chop them.

Clowns aren't usually picky, though. Eventually they should eat pellet food with no problems. I've found flake food to be the least popular with my fish ... I don't think any of them will eat it.

conofrad69
05/11/2008, 09:30 PM
The tank has been goin for about 2.5 months and the Clowns have been in for about a week now. One is yellow and about 2 inches and the other is orange and about 2.5 to 3 inches. I will try the cyclopes eez on my next order of food. At the moment i have formula 2, krill, and a few frozens. But the inverts seem to like the frozens more then the fish do, by the way is the single pump in the nano good enough for water flow or should i get a few more mini ones for behind the rocks and such

conofrad69
05/11/2008, 09:33 PM