PDA

View Full Version : How do I get rid of Green Algea?

surfer0063
05/29/2008, 02:46 PM
I'm new to the hobby and this forum and have found RC very helpfull, so Hi to everyone. I've had my tank set up for about 3 months now. I try to do a 30 - 50% water change every week. I have a HOB 80gal bio-wheel power filter on my 38gal. -Now the problem.- I have an outbreak of Ich and I am using Ich attack (organic) to try an get rid of the Ich. As you know, you can't run the carbon filter while doin the treatment, and since then I have green algea growing on everything, even my fish. I was thinking about draining my tank, bleaching my live rock, cleaning the tank, and basically starting all over again. So, before i do that, I would like to see if there is an easier way. Thanks in advance.

P.S. - I am still treating the tank for Ich and will be for a couple more days. Also, I just picked up some phos-buster and used it today.

imcosmokramer
05/29/2008, 02:53 PM
First, Welcome.

Do you use ro/di water? 30-50% every week is a lot. Get some phosguard and some chemi-pure or chemi-pure elite and run them with a reactor. Scrape, manually take out, as much algae as you can. It's a pain in the a%%, so you don't need to do the whole tank at once. Do 15 minutes a day. You should not have to do a 19 gallon waterchange weekly on a 38g tank. I'll find another link for you in a sec.

imcosmokramer
05/29/2008, 02:54 PM
http://www.brettsreef.com/index.php/tips-on-battling-nuisance-algae-in-the-marine-aquarium/

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1329802

surfer0063
05/29/2008, 02:56 PM
I use UV Sterilized saltwater from my LFS. How long will it take for the tank to be clear like it was before.

imcosmokramer
05/29/2008, 02:58 PM
Took my 75 (plus 30gl sump/fuge) less than 2 weeks.

Ajilon
05/29/2008, 03:11 PM