PDA

View Full Version : Experts Welcome Magnet in Reef..Good/Bad

black_majik
06/01/2008, 08:30 PM
Hello everyone,

I was reading another thread about the use of magnets as spot to hold coral in the tank, but the constant argument is whether a magnet is reef safe or not. I can only imagine it could collect pos/neg charged particles. But then again I'm not a expert by any means. So I turn it the Lords of the Chemistry forum.

Thanks,

Nick

Randy Holmes-Farley
06/02/2008, 05:09 AM
Magnets do not collect charged particles. They do collect magnetic particles, such as metallic bits of iron, but I do not see any concern with that. If the magnet is protected from corrosion, it should be fine.

I keep a cleaning magnetic in my tank 24/7. :)

black_majik
06/02/2008, 05:14 AM
For more depth it is those cheap Rare Earth magnets that look like coins covered in an epoxy.

Randy Holmes-Farley
06/02/2008, 05:33 AM
Yes, those should be fine when coated. :)

pdelcast
06/02/2008, 11:19 AM
You do have to be careful and make sure the epoxy coating is uniform, and has no cuts or chips. Neodymium magnets will decompose (oxidize) REALLY quickly in a saltwater environment, and leach iron, boron, and neodymium into your system.

Randy Holmes-Farley
06/02/2008, 12:22 PM
Although I've no reason to believe small amounts of those are a problem. Seawater has a lot of borate, I dose iron, and I do not know if neodymium is toxic or even soluble in seawater.

pdelcast
06/04/2008, 12:53 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=12662514#post12662514 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by Randy Holmes-Farley
Although I've no reason to believe small amounts of those are a problem. Seawater has a lot of borate, I dose iron, and I do not know if neodymium is toxic or even soluble in seawater.

Dosing iron? Hmmm, I always assumed that would cause an algae bloom. All those iron fertilization experiments in the open ocean...

"give me a tanker full of iron, and I'll give you the next ice age"