PDA

View Full Version : (2) 400 watt single ended metal halide bulbs inside lumenarc?


vcruz17
06/05/2008, 09:48 PM
hi, i have a lumenarc 3 pendant with the socket for a single ended mogul bulb, 400 watts. would there be any problem in me taking out the socket and drilling another hole to put in another 400 watt bulb? the bulbs would be side by side. i have seen a similar reflector with 2 bulbs in that configuration, but i cost like $1000 dollars. any thoughts? thanks

victor

ReefNOut
06/06/2008, 11:49 AM
Im sure you could make it work if it fits. I have a friend that has done two 175s in a fixture like it. You should call up lumenarc and ask them if they think it would hold up to extra heat.

phurst
06/06/2008, 01:28 PM
I think you'd loose a significant amount of efficiency. Lumenarcs are designed to get as much reflected light into the tank from what is esentialy a point source of light (the arc in your MH bulb). If you put 2 bulbs in the reflector, then the light source is no longer in the spot the reflector was engineered for.

Gomer
06/06/2008, 01:37 PM
Pearson is right. Don't do it. You'll probably end up with an effective 5-600 watts of light out from 800watts supplied. You'll also have mega heat issues and will need to actively cool and will also likelyhave shortened the lifespan of the bulbs with the heat.

tuberider
06/06/2008, 03:15 PM
Check out Thales tank, he has factory dual bulb lumenarcs, I think it's safe to say it works for him.

Gomer
06/06/2008, 04:45 PM
well, think of going from T5HO --> PC. That is the same optics arguement as 1x400 -->2x400 in the same reflector.

vcruz17
06/06/2008, 06:17 PM
how do i see thales tank??

tuberider
06/06/2008, 08:21 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=12694721#post12694721 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by Gomer
well, think of going from T5HO --> PC. That is the same optics arguement as 1x400 -->2x400 in the same reflector. Not exactly the same Tony, MH is point source, so there is less bulb to get in the way. Besides I got more PAR than you with less wattage :dance:

AFA, Thales tank, I'll look around the post where he was showing off his new toys seems to not have a pic right now, I'll see what I can find though.

tuberider
06/06/2008, 08:45 PM
Here you go

Rich's tank (http://www.bareefers.org/discussion/index.php?topic=2614.0)

steve9
06/06/2008, 11:42 PM
The way i do this is 2 de diy reef 250 .....you will have par better than a hqi 400....you can have both on for 4 hrs ...stagger the lighting ....works great