PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and black Ocellaris question

Octopus8
06/10/2008, 09:48 AM
Been lurking for a few weeks now, so I finally decided to introduce myself and post a simple question.

I'm new to the whole "nano reef" thing, but I do have experience in reef aquariums. I kept a 150 gallon reef from the mid 80's until 1999. Halide lights, chiller, protein skimmer, UV sterilizer, auto top-off, RO DI unit in the basement, etc. I'm amazed at how things have changed over the years during my nine year hiatus. Glad to be back.

Below is a brief description of my current aquarium. It has fully cycled and the Coralline algae is starting to spread on the live rock. All of the water tests are within correct or acceptable parameters.

Aquarium: 24g Aquapod(stock compact florescent upgraded with silent fans)
Pumps: Two Koralia Nano and one Maxijet 900
Live rock: 38 lbs.
Substrate: 25 lbs. CaribSea live sand and 6 lbs. Garf Grunge

Coral:
Variety of Zoanthid polyps.
Yellow Polyps
Blue mushrooms
Xenia
Cabbage Leather coral
Ricordea

Fish:
Orange Ocellaris
Black Ocellaris
Golden Sailfin Blenny atrosalarias fuscus (algae eating machine)

CUC:
Mostly Astrea, Cerith and Nerite snails
A couple of Red and Blue leg hermits.

HERE'S MY QUESTION: