PDA

View Full Version : New tank set up

deepseanige
06/18/2008, 01:12 PM
Hi all,

I'm a complete beginner to all things marine. I've recently wound down a cichlid tank and am thinkin' of moving to marines when I move into my new apartment. :)

Initially I'm thinkin’ of fish only and when I'm comfortable with maintaining water parameter/quality I'll move to soft/hard corals.

My current thinking on setup is as follows:

Juwel Vision 260 Litre (internal filter removed)
Eheim External Filter
HOB protein skimmer
Coral Sand
Live Rock
RO/DI unit
Some fishies (not sure which ones yet)
T5 lights / halide (depending on price)
Tunze Turbelle nanostream

And now for some questions....

When cycling the tank, can I do it with live rock, adding fish flakes to generate the required ammonia and watch until zero ammonia and nitrite?

Can I put live rock initially with a fish only tank, I've read the fish will just eat whatever is in the live rock and it'll become very expensive base rock?

Not sure exactly what type of RO unit I need, I’ve read it's best to have a deionizer as well? Is it hard to achieve the recommended 50psi in domestic water supplies?

As the tank is gonna be in a living room I'm thinking of only having the protein skimmer running for certain hours in the day i.e. 12am to 6pm. Any problems with this?

I really want to do this the right way!

Cheers

AngeloM3
06/18/2008, 01:26 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=12773082#post12773082 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by deepseanige

Juwel Vision 260 Litre (internal filter removed)
Eheim External Filter

When cycling the tank, can I do it with live rock, adding fish flakes to generate the required ammonia and watch until zero ammonia and nitrite?

Can I put live rock initially with a fish only tank, I've read the fish will just eat whatever is in the live rock and it'll become very expensive base rock?