PDA

View Full Version : Some SPS Help Please

lilfishbigreef
06/22/2008, 07:49 AM
Yes there is an SPS question in here :D

Hello to all in the Reefing world,

as stated, i am new to nanos but not to reefing

i am planning my Nano build but i have a few questions

i purchased a 24g AP without a hood, i will be buying a Current outer obrit 150W MH pendant for it and leave it with an open top.

ofcourse , how it is in the reefing world, my original plan was just to have a stock Nano for us to enjoy since i sold off my larger system BUT that has slightly change (NOT A BIG SURPRISE! )

i now want to do 2 Nanos side by side, the 24g AP mainly SPS and another similar tank around 20g only for Anenomes with T5's

i wanted to tie them into 1 system, with a single sump/skimmer/return pump with split returns with valves to control the flow sperately for each tank (or maybe 2 seperate pumps 1 for each)

i plan to have them on 1 stand with an ATO and so on...

here finally come my questions:

MOST IMPORTANTLY, is this a good idea?

i know the water quality requirements for SPS, but i wonder will having if an Anenome dedicated tank with clowns on the same system would be a bad idea? will it hinder the health of the SPS or vise versa?

also what is the best way to do an overflow in the 24g AP?

i would really like to do a sump so i can minimize the clutter behind the tank, i also prefer full size skimmers

is there something i've overlooked?

any help is greatly appreciated

Thanks in advance
Emilio

DevilBoy
06/22/2008, 09:26 AM
if i remember right the APs have built in overflows. So i am guessing you would just have to drill it for the bulkheads.

As for the anemones and SPS i dont see a reason why they wouldnt be ok

sprite
06/22/2008, 09:35 AM
"MOST IMPORTANTLY, is this a good idea?"

its not a bad 1 but you could of saved some money just using 2 20high tanks. by tieing them together your defeating the purpose of an all-in-one