PDA

View Full Version : New to FOWLR

kingnai
06/27/2008, 12:08 AM
Hey guys, This is Ian I am new to fish only tanks,

I have a 92 gallon corner reef tank that has been up and running for a couple of years now. So I have a decent amount of knowledge with reef tanks.

What I need to know is what is different about about fish only with live rock?

I have a 55 gallon with about 3 inces of sand bed and about 50lbs of live rock,

I plan on using my modified wet/dry filter that I removed the bio balls and put in a sock, I have a coralife skimmer rated for 125 gallons down ther also.

Lighting I have a power compact fixture with 4 96 watt bulbs, I don't think I need that much do I?

I also have a return pump of about 600 gph after head loss and 2 maxi jet 1200's circulating behind and in front of the rock down low.

What if any advice do you have for a newbie...

Thanks,
-Ian

prime311
06/27/2008, 12:32 AM
Not much different for a FOWLR. Main thing is you don't need as much lighting, Nitrates aren't as big of a deal, and the larger fish usually produce more waste.

kingnai
06/27/2008, 12:48 AM
any suggustions for a max number of fish for a 55

LisaD
06/27/2008, 01:55 AM
to add on FOWLR -

Where with a reef, it's all about meeting the needs of the corals, with FOWLR it is about meeting the needs of the fish. Just like corals, different fish have different environmental and dietary needs. Compatibility is a huge issue, so research your species. Be aware of adult size and if you can keep the fish in the tank for life. If not, avoid the species or have an upgrade in the wings. Wetwebmedia is a good place for species research.

You still need to keep water quality high. Nitrates don't have to be zero, but IMO should be less than 20 ppm. I have several species of fish that are definitely sensitive to high nitrates. Best to be as conscientious about water quality as you can. Your fish will be healthier and your tank will look better.