PDA

View Full Version : Emergency Power

Playa-1
07/04/2008, 08:28 PM
I'm interested to know who is running a AC/DC power inverter and Deep Cycle Marine batteries for a back up power supply.

What are you using and how long of a run time are you getting from the battery bank?

Any additional information would be appreciated.

8BALL_99
07/05/2008, 12:21 AM
I've got a DIY ups thats a Deep cycle battery with a AC/DC inverter. I have a couple solarpanels on my roof that keeps it charged and ready.. I've been using this ups for about 2 years.. It works great. I've only got one Battery on mine. I've got a Generator for long outages.. As far as run time I'm not sure exactly how long it will run. The longest I've ever needed it was about 3-4 hours. That was running 2 Eheim 1260s and one Mag 7. I think a UPS like this is a great option if you dont want to spend 2+grand on a whole house system just to have automatic back up power.

Playa-1
07/05/2008, 04:52 AM
Thanks for the feedback, That sounds like a nice set-up. I'm actually looking into setting up a 2k watt system. I will probably play around with solar panels at some point but for the time being it would just be set up as a UPS with a couple of good agm deep cycle marine batteries. I'm actually very curious as to run times people have been able to get out of their set-ups.

das75
07/05/2008, 10:12 AM
2000w battery backup, that's big if you planning on running it for any length of time.

Consider what you really need in the event of an outage. For me looking just at the recir pump for aeration and a heater, basically no lights, skimmer, Ca reactor. If I thought was going to be longterm, would take the sump off-line and just throw a heater and a powerhead in the display for surface agitation (aeration).

This is based on our climate and on the very rare time there's an outage it's winter. If thought a concern in summer, would just put my muffin fans on the circuit.

Playa-1
07/05/2008, 12:37 PM