PDA

View Full Version : New Typhoon III 100gpd system - TDS problem?


opie
07/18/2008, 09:19 PM
I got a new system recently and my tap water is about 146ppm however, the purified water coming out is reading 11ppm.
Shouldn't it be much lower than that?
I've been running it for about 4 hours now to drain both the waste and DI output.
Any ideas on how to improve the output of my unit?
Thanks!

shag26272
07/20/2008, 01:59 PM
im having the same problem, they just sent me a new membrane and its worse

opie
07/21/2008, 07:54 AM
I sent an email this morning so I hope to hear back soon.

akma
07/22/2008, 10:28 AM
Shag your still having problems even with the new membranes?
Mine TDS is staying consitant at about 70.

shag26272
07/22/2008, 10:54 AM
yeah, I got it down to 11 after the RO, flushed about 40 gallons to get it that low, I did notice when I took the membrane out , there was a huge glob of lubricant on the end of the membranes near the o-rings. Seemed like way too much.

opie
07/22/2008, 08:56 PM
No response to my email yet..... I guess I'll be calling tomorrow.

akma
07/23/2008, 11:30 AM
They usually reply back to the first e-mail pretty fast. Then after that they don't reply back as fast.

Oh I see you are in Fair Lawn.
I'm not too far from you in paramus.

opie
07/23/2008, 03:03 PM
Checked my TDS of the membrane output - 48ppm.

Looks like I have a bad RO membrane and now that's probably exhausted my DI resin as well so they'll be sending me replacements via priority mail.
No filling up my tank anytime soon then I guess......... :(

Snaphook
07/25/2008, 03:43 AM
Did this problem ever get resolved? I am/was planning on buying this unit. However, the lack of response for the sponsor is concerning. Please advise.

shag26272
07/25/2008, 08:07 AM
They respond by email, I dont know why they dont check the forum. They are sending me a 3rd membrane free of charge being I had problems with the other 2. Their customer service is great, dont hesitate to order from them.

opie
08/04/2008, 10:55 PM
Yes it did - new membrane solved it and got pure 0ppm water coming out of my unit.
Cheers!

SolidDetail808
08/15/2008, 04:25 PM
I'm having th same problem. I replaced the membrane and can't get it lower that 50ppm after RO. With my original one it was 10ppm but started to rise so I thought it was my membrane so I replaced it. Is this a membrane problem?