PDA

View Full Version : What Would Cause This Strange pH Behavior


Kengar
07/29/2008, 11:29 AM
Is this sign of probe going bad? Nothing died, probe is still where it always was. Probe is only about two months old.

http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd264/Kengar/ph.jpg

fishnu
07/29/2008, 11:55 AM
Looks suspicious, as though the calibration was suddenly reset.

Do you have any 7.0 or 10.0 on hand?

clp
07/29/2008, 12:30 PM
Possibly a ground loop. Make sure that an isolator is installed if you are using the serial port on the controller. Also make sure that any of the digital inputs are electrically isolated from the water.

Curt

Kengar
07/29/2008, 12:52 PM
I'm not using the serial port, and there is no reason the inputs would have gotten wet since I did nothing, and there's a mini-din plugged into the port as it is.

clp
07/29/2008, 12:56 PM
Some float switches fail, and begin to leak water. It is worth checking.

Curt

Kengar
08/04/2008, 11:42 AM
I think I figured out what happened. I had gas build-up in my calcium reactor, so I opened up the outlet drip-control valve to allow max flow out of the reactor so as to purge the build-up. Very low-pH effluent dropped the system pH almost immediately. . . . . duh!