PDA

View Full Version : copper in a reef tank?!?

kevin adams
07/31/2008, 04:07 PM
i know it's an obvious no but i have a problem, im a plumber by trade(commercial new construction) and i deal with copper on a regular basis, for those who have never dealt with copper, before you make a solder joint, you must clean the surfaces where you need the solder to adhere with a wire brush or sand paper... in the process, your hands get covered in copper "dust".

i've had reef tanks in the past but havent had one in about 4 years, right before i started my apprentice-ship so i didnt have this issue. i wash my hands religiously everyday when i get home from work but is this going to be enough?

thanks

jansenwrasse
07/31/2008, 06:44 PM
It should be fine just ensure that you wash them well. If you have all of the "oil" off your hands from the copper pipe then the copper dust should also be off, and wash up to the elbows ;)

OH by the way welcome to reef central !!!!!

jansenwrasse
07/31/2008, 07:01 PM
http://reefcentral.com/images/welcome.gif

Ha I found it :D

Welcome friend

Boomer
07/31/2008, 09:31 PM
It took you long enough :)

jansenwrasse
08/01/2008, 07:53 AM
:lol: :rollface:

kevin adams
08/01/2008, 08:13 PM
thanks for the welcome

what "oil" from the copper are you refering to?? the oil that your skin produces?? or flux? sometimes(if i've been running copper all day long) even after washing my hands with gojo or another pumice cleaner my hands are still green from the copper, do you think this could cause a problem??

jansenwrasse
08/01/2008, 09:25 PM
That green is no good.. The flux is what I was refering to once that stuff is off I would say you are good.

Best of luck and welcome back to the hobby :)

suphew
08/02/2008, 04:29 PM
Why don't your wear reef gloves, then you know for sure your okay. I don't think it would take much to be a problem, just some dust under your nails.

atvdave
08/02/2008, 05:28 PM
In your trade I'd also run some Carbon.