PDA

View Full Version : hmm questions...

eva dailey
08/06/2008, 04:13 PM
I am new to this hobby and decided to get ready to start FOWLR as I am going to college soon and wanted something to keep me busy while in my new apartment... I can't take my boxer puppy :( so I decided that a fish tank would make a beautiful addition to my new space, as well as a fun and challenging activity :)

I have been studying for a while now and still have so many little questions but right now I am just trying to consider what I want in my tank... and then I can do the homework to decided if my choices are right and what I will need...

So my question: I would eventually love to house a percula clownfish,heniochus butterfly, longnose butterfly, purple tang, naso tang, hippo tang, flame anglefish, panther grouper, mandarin dragonet, sixline wrasse, royal gramma, and midas blenny

do you think these fish would do well together? and if so... how big would my tank need to be? Which fish should I introduce to the tank first to avoid conflict?
I am clueless and would love some feedback :)

sufunk
08/06/2008, 04:21 PM
Well, a panther grouper gets over 18" long and a Naso tang can get almost as big. For a panther grouper, i'd say you are looking at about a 400g. Get rid of that and you could knock it down to about 180-240 at absolute minimum. Get rid of the Naso tang and then you could go 180g or maybe a little smaller.

The tangs and grouper are your biggest problem. I wouldn't start with a tank that big especially considering the cost. I'd say knock out the tangs/grouper and get the rest in like a 90g. MUCH more reasonable!

SteveJakubiec
08/06/2008, 04:25 PM
I'd nix the panther grouper, seeing as how that'd munch on pretty much all of your smaller fish. Also the sixline might out compete the mandarin for the pods in your tank, and they are aggressive, I'd give you advice to look into some of the fairy wrasses, which sure are pretty.