PDA

View Full Version : Do I Need A Skimmer/refugium?

kernyboy
08/13/2008, 02:32 PM
I hear alot of talk about Refugiums and Skimmers...Do I need this on my 10 Gallon Nano tank? Are the results night and day by way of water quality and clarity?

My LFS sold me an aqualand biowheel filter....however I see alot of people on the forum using refugiums etc. Am I missing something here? Am I doing something wrong?

Do they make an all in one box I can just hang on to the back of my tank? Any recommendations? If you guys can submit pics of your set up that would be great too. I'm still learning and looking for an elegant solution.

As far as space is concerned, My tank isn't on a stand...its sits on the island in my kitchen...so ideally I'm looking for something that is'nt too much of an eye sore. Thanks again guys!

Flavum
08/13/2008, 02:41 PM
theres a million and one ways to run a succesful saltwater tank. youll run into alot of ways to filter tanks. A refugium and or skimmer is NOT needed. they both have huge upsides to using them although.

for a long time all I ran on my 40 breeder was alot of water flow and live rock. Frequent small water changes were done on it weekly and it flourished. honestly If I had a choice between running no filter and the biowheel filters I wouldnt them. there are a couple nano skimmers that are on the market now. the only one ive persoanlly had experience with is the rio nano. It does a decent job but usually has to be played with alot to get it primed.

kernyboy
08/13/2008, 02:52 PM
so....I should NOT be running the biowheel?

Ricunger
08/13/2008, 03:17 PM
I ran biowheel and loved it... but since i switched it all over to a aquapod i had no need for it.

Flavum
08/13/2008, 03:24 PM
im not saying you shouldnt run it but if it were me I wouldnt even bother using it.

JLopez
08/13/2008, 04:45 PM