PDA

View Full Version : PH woes

kernyboy
08/14/2008, 10:03 PM
my ph went up from 8.2 to 8.4? I'm new to this all, but is this bad? it's a Fairly new tank.. about 3 months old. I have a few beginner coral in there. what could have caused this? what should I be doing? how do I fix this?

tmz
08/15/2008, 12:44 AM
8.4 is not a cause for concern. Are you testing ph at the same time of day? It will vary with the lighting cycle and photosynthetic activity.

kernyboy
08/15/2008, 07:14 AM
Well, I went from having a FOWLR to some coral. My tank used to be stable at 8.2, then I started added coral. Last night I did a water change, and did a water test and now its at 8.4? My other FOWLR tank is at 8.2 still.

Does having Coral change your ph? I read the safe range is 8.0 to 8.5...should i be somewhere in the middle? i was also reading lemon, or vinegar can bring the PH down. Should I go this route?

tmz
08/15/2008, 08:19 AM
8.4 is good. There is no need to dose anything to lower it. Ranges are ranges. There is nothing to suggest being in the middle is better than being on the end.
In fact the high side might actually be a bit better for coral calcification.Yes corals can affect ph since they absorb CO2 during photosynthesis and propduce oxygen. Adding Co2 will drop ph. Vinegar does this but it is acetic acid which can fuel bacterial growth. Never heard of anyone lusing lemon for this purpose ,however,it is also acidic.
Atr you dosing additives/supplements?

kernyboy
08/15/2008, 08:47 AM
So in short, the corals are helping to oxygenate the water...removed C02 which drops the PH... :) I'm not using any additives. Do you recommend I do? Are there any good reads on how coral affects water chemistry? I've been poking around a bit, but figured you guys would have a better idea. thanks.

tmz
08/15/2008, 01:17 PM