PDA

View Full Version : High water level sensor?


bluetang_2000
09/03/2008, 05:38 PM
I need to buy a high water level sensor for the AC3 to prevent too much water in the sump. Any good recommendation? I was looking at this and not sure I need this or just the sensor.


http://www.autotopoff.com/products/DS1/index.htm

Thanks

sbreefer
09/03/2008, 06:01 PM
the tunze osmolator is by far the best ----it is a complete system tho.
Has a float and a laser. redunadcy is king. I have an AC3 too.

bluetang_2000
09/03/2008, 06:07 PM
+1 for the tunze osmolator since mine is still working after 2 yrs. This is more of a level sensor to stop pumps when there is an abnormal amount of water in the sump.

kenargo
09/03/2008, 06:10 PM
Agree with the others; the tunze uses an optical sensor for extremely accurate low water level sensor and a mechanical (float) for the high water; you set the range between high and low. It also includes an automatic 5 minute timer that shuts off the water makeup if the water level doesn't meet the low level sensor adding even more protection.

bluetang_2000
09/03/2008, 11:13 PM
How about just the high water level sensor

jthao
09/03/2008, 11:31 PM
To myknowledge, the osmolator doesn't work with the AC3, it's a system on it's own, so if you get just the high water..... it would sound an alarm, but won't really do anything.

kenargo
09/04/2008, 12:24 AM
You are correct in that the Osmolator doesn't plug into the AC3 and is a self-contained top-off but when the high water float is hit and the alarm is sounding the make-up water is shut off.

If you want just a high-water you could get your own float an hook it into the AC and control whatever you wanted to using the program based on the state of the float.

virginiadiver69
09/04/2008, 09:06 AM
I use the autotopoff sensors and am happy with the product