PDA

View Full Version : help with raw photos

lowincwrx
09/05/2008, 10:12 AM
My computer at home is not working so i went to wal-mart with my card to save my photos on a disk and the photos shot in raw form would not pull up. I am totally new to dslr and am not sure why this happened is it normal? my camera is a sony a200 this is my first time shooting in raw my camera has a raw+jpeg option should i shoot in that instead?

please help i'm going out of town today and i need to erase the pictures off my card. i can probably save them on my computer here at work but will i have the same problem later when i try to save them on a cd?

swjim
09/05/2008, 12:33 PM
You'll need to convert the pictures to jpegs in order to print them. Raw+jpeg would allow you to do this but it would obviously allow you to keep fewer pictures on the card due to the additional space taken by the jpegs.

BlueCorn
09/05/2008, 12:53 PM
It's unlikely that Wal-Mart system recognizes RAW images. You'll need to use a computer to download that card.

lowincwrx
09/05/2008, 01:30 PM
thanks guys i already saved them on my computer at work. I also went ahead and downloaded my cameras software and am in awe at the options raw photos have i am a little overwhelmed.

BlueCorn
09/05/2008, 01:31 PM
Download the trial version of Adobe Lightroom. You'll never go back to processing any other way.

;)

swjim
09/05/2008, 02:25 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=13296919#post13296919 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by beerguy
Download the trial version of Adobe Lightroom. You'll never go back to processing any other way.

;)

I agree. Lightroom makes processing much faster and easier.

lowincwrx
09/05/2008, 02:51 PM
will do once i get the computer at home up and running again. Don't think the boss would appreciate all the extra downloads on the computer but then again she probably wouldn't like the time i spend on rc ;)

BlueCorn
09/05/2008, 02:52 PM
Tell her that I said it was okay.

:lol:

swjim