PDA

View Full Version : U tube overflows


TheDeparted
09/08/2008, 05:26 AM
Lionel showed some intrest in my U tube overflow.. guess he had never seen one before.. if you dont have one, you really need to get one. you should not rely on a pump to create a syphon for you. the pump could go out, or get clogged or many other things.

A U tube overflow will never lose syphon and dosnt rely on anything electronic.

here are some links to a few places that sell U tube overflows..

$120
http://www.lifereef.com/frame.html

$63
http://www.championlighting.com/product.php?cat=0&page=1&productid=22071

$??
http://www.aquacorals.com/ShopOverflows.htm

the last one is where I got mine from.. I know they used to have a price up there, dont know why it changed. just e-mail them to get a price.. it will probably be cheaper then the other two.

Let me know if anyone has any questions about these overflows..

Lionel
09/08/2008, 06:17 AM
the one you have is nice because you can unbolt it to take the boxes apart.. which has got to be great to get it cleaned up.

dkermitb
09/08/2008, 04:50 PM
I have a U-tube overflow now. As a matter-of-fact, I've had one for all of my overflow tanks in the past. It is a safer way for when your electricity does go out. I haven't had any issues. Just make sure you have enough flow going through the tube. If you don't bubbles will form at the top of the tube and the suction will stop. So keep a good current going through the syphon.