PDA

View Full Version : a few total newbie questions...

soulbereaver
09/12/2008, 01:57 PM
ok, first how long does it usually take for coraline (purple stuff) to start growing on back of tank and base rock? I have about 60 lbs of live rock, well established already.

second, how much light does coraline generally need per day? I have two 250W metal halides over a 75 gallon tank.

thirdly, are there any worms known for eating small anenome's like aptasia? And also has anyone ever known aptasia to be harmful to smaller fish?

thanks much for any answers/input you have.

Craig

HappySkittles
09/12/2008, 02:02 PM
im not sure how long it takes for it to grow
but if you have high calcium that is what it really needs to grow
i think your lights are good

as for aptasia...peppermint shrimp eat that

jimbo78
09/12/2008, 02:05 PM
keep your calcium above 400 and the coraline should start showing up pretty soon, if there is some in the rocks already you can scrape some of it with a razor blade or knife and it will break up and help seed the rest of the tank. you have plenty of light

as far as the aptisia, some people have luck with peppermint shrimp, but its kinda hit or miss. i dont know of any worms that eat it , but you could always use aptisiaX or joes juice or kalk paste, or some people even use super glue gel to kill them with.

stingythingy45
09/12/2008, 02:08 PM
"ok, first how long does it usually take for coraline (purple stuff) to start growing on back of tank and base rock? I have about 60 lbs of live rock, well established already."

It depends how your calcium,magnesium and alk levels are.
And if you already have some coralline growing on a rock in the tank.For me growth on the glass was the last place it started.
And that was about 3 months.

"second, how much light does coraline generally need per day? I have two 250W metal halides over a 75 gallon tank."