PDA

View Full Version : Photoinhibition and Temperature

bristle
09/15/2008, 01:32 PM
I'm not an expert, but I have a bit of experience in animal and plant physiology, and this came up in a lecture this afternoon.

Photoinhibition is caused by two main factors:

- Too much sunlight
- Cold temperatures

What if we were to increase the temperature of our aquariums from the standard 78F to somewhere around 83 or 84? This is within a tolerable range and I have been keeping my aquarium at these temperatures for about 8 months now.

This might mitigate a bit of the photoinhibition and thus result in longer photosynthetic and thus growth periods.

Comments?

BeanAnimal
09/15/2008, 02:33 PM
I have run at 82-84 for over 3 years :)

MCsaxmaster
09/16/2008, 12:35 AM
Photoinhibition can be caused by a variety of stressors and certainly is not limited to excess light or cold stress. Heat stress can and does cause the same sort of damage, hence why heat stress can and does cause bleaching ;) There are many other stressors that cause photoinhibition though (UV stress, salinity stress, dessication, some herbicides, toxins, etc.).

While I think it is probabably preferable to keep most corals/reef tanks in the low 80's most of the time (as opposed to high 70's), I would not cite this as a reason to do so.

bristle
09/16/2008, 10:19 AM
In an aquarium, dessication, herbicides, etc. aren't really relevant. Unless something goes horribly wrong, most factors are relatively stable in a well maintained aquarium (some flux with water changes, increasing nutrients).

Salinity stress can be mitigated by use of a top off. I don't know about UV. I know our bulbs emit tons of it but much is captured by the glass shields (how much I cannot say).

I don't know much of the absorptive power of carbon but I hear it thrown around here that it can absorb toxin warfare from corals.