PDA

View Full Version : Milwaukee PH Controller SMS 122 Problems

MarkHammel
09/17/2008, 09:21 PM
All,

I'm trying to calibrate my Milwaukee SMS 122.

I purchased Pinpoint 10.0 ph and 7.0 ph from my LFS.

On the high side, I can dial into 10.0. On the low side, this highest I can dial into is like 6.3.

This is my first attempt at a Calcium Reactor/Ph Controller so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

mr. pluto
09/17/2008, 09:53 PM
your supposed to use the 4.0 cal. fluid & 7.0
adjust to 7.0 with the front dial & 4.0 with the small screw hole in the back.

MarkHammel
09/18/2008, 11:40 AM
Ok, I went to my LFS to get calibration fluid and he said it didn't matter if you use 4.0/7.0 or 7.0/10.0. He said it would accomplish the same thing.

Anybody else have any experience with this?

MarkHammel
09/18/2008, 11:41 AM
Another question, how long should it take to get an accurate reading?

It seems to dial-in right away. Should I give it 5-10 mins???

MarkHammel
09/18/2008, 04:38 PM
ping

AZDesertRat
09/18/2008, 06:28 PM
For some reason Milwaukee recommends a single point calibration and not a two point calibration when you are using it for an aquarium application. When I bought my SMS-122 there was a paper in the box stating this.
Have you talked to their Tech Support people? I called them a few times over the last few years and they bent over backwards to help, they even called back long distance on more than one occasion to make sure everything was alright!
http://www.milwaukeetesters.com/contactus.html

tgreene
09/18/2008, 11:30 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=13379870#post13379870 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by AZDesertRat
For some reason Milwaukee recommends a single point calibration and not a two point calibration when you are using it for an aquarium application. When I bought my SMS-122 there was a paper in the box stating this.