PDA

View Full Version : How successful are true FO tanks?

JustinReef
09/25/2008, 01:13 PM
I saw a beautiful FO tank yesterday in a hotel. The fish looked incredible and healthy. My dad was saying he has been staying at the hotel for years and the same fish are always there. So Im pretty sure they are not just replacing them when needed.

It was a FO tank with no LR, coral skeletons mostly. It was a very beautiful tank.

Just got me thinking that one day I want to give one a shot. Its something I have never done before, so it appeals to me! I have no idea what they are using for filtration. What makes a successful FO tank?

I have heard that tanks like this often run a bit of copper at all times.

What else can you tell me or show me about FO tanks? I have only ever seen a few on here.

I would assume its the exact same idea but with bio balls instead of LR. All other equipment would be the same I guess.

I think I have an idea for my next tank....

Recty
09/25/2008, 01:48 PM
There are mechanical means to do everything that LR does for us, it just typically is more expensive and takes more maintenance than just simply putting in LR.

I imagine they have a nice sized sump hooked up with a denitrator and whatever else they deem necessary. It really isnt that hard to do, I ran a 180g FO about 5 years ago, I didnt have a lot of fish though, just 4 or 5 large ones and nothing small. It all ran to a downstairs sump that was simply hooked to DIY filter mechanism and an ozone machine/protein skimmer. I had crystal clear water and healthy fish, it was easy.

I just recently set up a new 210g tank, the only reason I went with 180 lbs of live rock is just for the look and so the fish feel "natural" in their cage.

JustinReef
09/25/2008, 02:01 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=13424266#post13424266 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by Recty