PDA

View Full Version : New RO/DI, anything I need to know?

Taqpol
10/01/2008, 10:03 AM
Hi all, I just ordered a BFS 75 gpd ro/di machine thats going to be delivered today. I saw in a different thread thatif you change out the filters you have to do something special before you can start using water again, so i assume that means you also have to do something special with an entirely new machine to "break it in" before the water is usable.

I've never used or set up an ro/di before, is there anything I should know or do?

an411
10/01/2008, 10:05 AM
Yeah waste about 5 to 10 gallons of water before you use the water.

Flavum
10/01/2008, 10:25 AM
yea run it for a bit like 411 said and also I dont know where your keeping it but if its outside dont let it freeze..you probably already realized this but I thought I would throw it out there. I killed mine....

AZDesertRat
10/01/2008, 11:03 AM
Once you have picked a location to install the unit either permanent or portable you need to rinse everything up. Before turning the water on first disconnect the line from the carbon block up to the RO membrane at the membrane housing end. Turn the water on and flush a few gallons of water out to rinse any carbon dust or fines out so it does not get to the membrane. With the high quality 0.6 micron carbon block Buckeye uses this is not as much an issue as with some other carbons especially granular media.
Once it has flushed a bit, shut the water off, reconnect the line and next unscrew the DI housing and remove the DI cartridge.