PDA

View Full Version : Best reef salt mix to use!!!

leonel04
10/05/2008, 11:17 AM
Hi all, I have been using Reef Crystals salt mix for a few months now and it's time to reorder and was thinking if there's another salt mix that will give me better results. Thanks..

modd77
10/05/2008, 12:37 PM
I switched from Reef Crystals to Reefers Best salt and am totally happy with the results. I run a zeo tank and for me it is right in range of NSW. I cut my water changes back to 5% of volume every 2 weeks, instead of 10% once a week with reef crystals. The downside is RB is expensive but I use less, which works out for me.

leonel04
10/05/2008, 12:44 PM
modd77, Makes sense if you pay more for the salt and you do less water changes it compensates itself, Where do you get it from?. Thanks.

skey44
10/05/2008, 01:15 PM
I have been using tunze labsalt in my zeo system and been very happy. Unless you are running a very low nutrient sps tank I don't think the switch is justified.

leonel04
10/05/2008, 02:42 PM
Thanks.

james3586
10/05/2008, 03:04 PM
Marine Environment salt is as close as you can get to the ocean. It has the correct formula for reef an fish only systems. I have been using this salt for over four years now. LOOK @ Aqua Craft,Inc online.

modd77
10/05/2008, 03:15 PM
i order RB from Eric at www.zeovitusa.com (**********)

leonel04
10/05/2008, 03:44 PM
Thanks..

LuisC
10/05/2008, 04:49 PM
I just switched to Tropic Marine Pro. Good salt but it costs 2x Reef Crystals.

Mark426
10/05/2008, 05:46 PM
The BEST I have found is D-D H2Ocean salt. I was from the school that most salts were more or less the same. That was until I started using it. This is by far the best salt of the 6 or 8 salts I have tried over the years. My corals seem to just love it. It actually mixes to the specs they publish and is quite consistent. Be ready to pay for it though...it aint cheap. In a large tank, it may be too costly.