PDA

View Full Version : Heating and cooling with a geothermal loop

coryjones
10/07/2008, 07:38 PM
has anyone done this i have a 220g tank and 75g sump and running 3 400w mh. I was thinking of digging a hole out side throwing a loop of plastic tubing in it and using the ground temperature to cool the tank.
I am just not sure what size tube to use what length and if i dig a 3' hole if it would be enough or if i should go with a long horizontal loop. I don't know what flow to go with as well? I would like to have some type of controller to shut a pump on or off it gets to cold. Doe's anyone know of a controler or anyone that has done this? The ground temp should be 50-60deg at 3' around here year round. I am a hvac installer and have put in many geo units to heat and cool houses. So i am not new to this.

SWINGRRRR
10/07/2008, 07:55 PM
Theres a ton of threads on here about it. Try a search.

I never attempted it, or see it as an option. Its just not feasible for my location. But it seems that others have attempted this.

NewBostonConst
10/07/2008, 08:20 PM
I think you idea is great and will definitly work. But another way to do it would be by just adding another large tank to your system. This will give you more water for stability and cooling. I have bought a 150 gallon for $80 and a 80 gallon for $60 both used but in good shape.

BeanAnimal
10/07/2008, 08:25 PM
You are going to need more than a hole and a loop of tubing... you will quickly saturate the ground with heat from the tank. You will need a horizontal loop of substantial length at least 3' deep. There are some threads with the math. You will not want to run tank water through the loop (for MANY reasons). You will need to setup a heat exchanger and temperature controller to turn the loop on and off.

coryjones
10/07/2008, 09:32 PM