PDA

View Full Version : Aquired 2nd hand 50g up and running...now what?

drclifton
10/16/2008, 08:27 PM
I am working on purchasing a ~50g half cylinder acrylic tank from someone local (~1 hour drive through Houston) and I needed some advice from the experts on how to handle the whole process as i am a major noob.

First with the basics. It is fully functional and running right now, but recently went through hurricane IKE and many of the species within perished, or are severely shocked. It had been running for 3+ years prior to Ike. The tank has about 40# of LS and 60# of LR, 2 paired clownfish, RBTA, green toadstool, a severely shocked green brain, and is currently suffering a massive aiptasia invasion. Absolutely everything is included in this bundle (skimmer, lights(250wMH), fuge, sump, etc.) so when I get it here it should be ready to go. Has Cheato and organisms in refugium.

My questions:
what should I do about the water? - parameters are good minus trates in the 15-20ppm range....should I keep all the water and use it, keep 50% and add a new 50% RO when i get it to my place?

What should I do with the LR/LS due to the aiptasia and such should I remove them and buy new, or leave them in?

Any special tips on moving specimens? I will have to break down the entire setup to get it home.

Any tips on how to set it up and get it running when i get it here?

All help is truly appreciated. If i left some info out that you need please ask.

CBART
10/16/2008, 09:20 PM
This may not be the best idea, but this is how I got a 35gal home, that was up and running home.
1. remove creature and bag in tank water.
2. save as much clean tank water as possible in buckets.
3. remove rocks with as little disturbance to sand as possible.
4. place rocks in wet news papers or in buckets of fresh salt water.
(i only live 20mins from where I got the tank so I just put them in a dry bucket)
5. leave just enough water to cover the sand bed.