PDA

View Full Version : Icecap ballast question.


OkR33Fer
10/27/2008, 09:03 PM
I guess this pertains to any ballast really. How is power distributed through the harness of a retro type of installation. Currently my 660 drives 3 140w vho bulbs. I recently added a couple of MHs to the tank and want to disconnect the 2 10K vhos and just use the Actinic untill I can swap out the vhos for t5 supplementaion. Will I damage anything running just one bulb?

OkR33Fer
10/28/2008, 08:30 AM
Anyone?

TheReefKeeper
10/28/2008, 08:39 AM
They ones you disconnect will still be live!
As far as damage I pretty sure the ballast will only put power where it needs. Remember the lines you disconnect will still be live so be careful. Their will probably be a lot of people against this idea. Just use Caution when playing with electric and water especially with caped wires.

BigJay
10/28/2008, 09:02 AM
I'm far from an expert, but I think the smallest you can do is a two bulb wiring configuration with 72" bulbs on an icecap 660. You can't do just one.

Replace one of the 10K VHO with a super actinic, and run a pair like this:
http://www.f3images.com/IMD/aquarium_images/lt_ic_660-2.gif

There's no need to replace VHO super actinics with T5's. VHO super actinics look absolutely amazing on their own. All of the PAR your corals need will be supplied by the halides, the actinics will make the colors pop.

tangtang81
10/28/2008, 09:03 AM
not so sure u can run the 660 with just one bulb. here is a link to the wiring digram from marinedepot http://www.marinedepot.com/ps_AquariumPage~PageAlias~lighting_fluorescent_icecap_660_ballast.html