PDA

View Full Version : Timer & Programmable logic help (Kidney?)


90reefernyc
11/05/2008, 08:34 PM
Quick question and a little help. I have an automatic feeder on my tank that dispenses food 3 times a day.
1. I would like to turn off my return pumps during the feeding cycle.
2. I would like to turn off one of my sockets that i have on filter at the same time.
3. I would like to have my chiller and U.V. sterilizer off when the return pumps are off so they don't run dry while on a feed cycle.
I hope this is easy enough to understand and how to make it possible.
Thank you, Jimmy

Matthias Gross
11/06/2008, 01:45 AM
is it possible that return pump, filter and UV-cleaner all use the same socket, and the function is "filter" for that socket

if yes: very simple - program a timer and enable "filter pause" for this timer

-> you need not prog. log. - just a built-in function

90reefernyc
11/06/2008, 09:45 PM
OK i don't think my question was understood correctly so let me try again.
On my socket function I have:
Return pump 1 on S20
Return pump 2 on S21
Filter on S19
Chiller on S22
U.V on S18
My feed cycles are: 4:00pm, 5:30pm & 10:00pm
1.I would like my return pumps (S20 & S21) to shut down 5 minutes before each feed cycle and to stay off for about 10 minutes and then turn on each time I have a feed cycle.
2. I want the filter socket (S19) to do the same.
3. And chiller and U.V (S22 & S18) to turn off when return pumps (S20 & S21) are off so they don't run dry.
Is this possible? I think it should be but can someone walk me thru it.
TY Jimmy

kidney514
11/06/2008, 10:42 PM
Why aren't you just using the feeding pause that is builtin?

90reefernyc
11/06/2008, 11:30 PM
ok Thank you for the great answer its just as good as the explanation given in the manual 3.16.10 a whole 5 sentences there!!
come on guys this is a forum were users go to ask questions and get technical support! I am sorry if I am not a computer genius or can read and understand brief instructions in a manual and get it right away!! Please give me an example.. thank you...

90reefernyc
11/06/2008, 11:54 PM
I quote Kidney from 10/11/08 from this thread Manual for Programming Logic?
"My uv is only and can only be active of the pumps are on."
HOW do you do this?? How do you input it in the programmable logic section of the profilux controller??

Matthias Gross
11/07/2008, 02:19 AM
1. set function of socket S20, S21, S19 and S18 to "filter"
2. Chose a timer, program it to be active during the feed cycles
3. Set "If active then feeding pause"

Result for return pumps, filter & U.V. : they are switched off during the programmed times

This was simple. Now let's come to your chiller:
1.) set "logic 1" to "temp 1 cool" AND "timer 1" (assuming you chosed timer 1 before)
2.) set function of S22 to "logic 1"
Done.

kidney514
11/07/2008, 08:10 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=13697871#post13697871 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by 90reefernyc
ok Thank you for the great answer its just as good as the explanation given in the manual 3.16.10 a whole 5 sentences there!!
come on guys this is a forum were users go to ask questions and get technical support! I am sorry if I am not a computer genius or can read and understand brief instructions in a manual and get it right away!! Please give me an example.. thank you...
It was an honest question? That really makes me want to help you.... For me to help someone I usually like to understand why does the built-in feature are not good enough. You could have a said that you have an automatic feeder and it would have help me understand where you are going with this.

90reefernyc
11/07/2008, 10:38 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=13698825#post13698825 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by kidney514
It was an honest question? That really makes me want to help you.... For me to help someone I usually like to understand why does the built-in feature are not good enough. You could have a said that you have an automatic feeder and it would have help me understand where you are going with this.

Im sorry if there was a misunderstanding but it is on the first line of the first post.
Kidney I hope your still my friend just a little frustrated when I cant understand something right away.

Thank you Mathias I will try this when I get home and let you know how it works.

kidney514
11/07/2008, 01:19 PM
http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/nn22/kidney514/e47ac0b6.jpg

http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/nn22/kidney514/fadfafba.jpg

That should help......

90reefernyc
11/07/2008, 02:35 PM
Thank you Kidney! You see you have these cool programs were you can do screen shots and make us understand so much easier.
Appreciate the help will try tonight and see how it goes.
Thank you, Jimmy

90reefernyc
11/08/2008, 03:37 PM
Ok I did it the way you said and showed me. I am having a problem with the timer it shuts down at the said time but turns on about 5 minutes later than time in should be turning back on?
The programmable logic I did it the same way and its not doing anything? So i went to the temperature 1 sesor control and checked the box that said off during feeding pause and this seems to work fine. What do you think?
Thank you, Jimmy

kidney514
11/08/2008, 04:48 PM
check you feeding pause, must be set to 15 minutes?

90reefernyc
11/09/2008, 04:06 PM
Ok checked and adjusted the feeding pause. I found it under the extras menus in the pump section. Still no luck I set it for 10 minute 5 minutes 8 minutes nothing its like fixed on 15 minutes? I must be doing something wrong. When I go to the actual unit and hit the ESC button the feeding pause is active for the time I have it set for but when the timer program comes on no matter what I do it always keeps everything off for about 15 minutes I have changed the intervals many times on the timer program and still no luck.

90reefernyc
11/09/2008, 04:39 PM
http://i286.photobucket.com/albums/ll107/jns03/timer2-1.jpg

http://i286.photobucket.com/albums/ll107/jns03/feedtimer-1.jpg

Matthias Gross
11/10/2008, 01:41 AM
the time for the (manually started) feeding pause is appended to the timer cycle (see instructions)

-> if you want to achieve a certain feeding pause duration with a timer then set the timer end time minus the feeding pause

That means:
1. set the feed pause to the duration you need for manual feed pause activation (example 5 minutes)
2. set the timer: start time ,then end time = desired time - feed pause (example: 03:27 desired - 5 minutes=> result 03:22)

kidney514
11/10/2008, 11:08 AM
I will try it tonight....

90reefernyc
11/10/2008, 11:24 AM
[QUOTE]<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=13717410#post13717410 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by kidney514
[B]So too recap, the feeding pause will start after the timer expires.

No the feed pause starts correct with the timer lets say the first one 3:58 it shuts everything down at 3:58 but it doesn't start everything back up again at 4:05? everything starts back up at 4:13 which is about 15 minutes after the shut down time that's what I cant understand and how to get everything on the timer mode to go off with the timer and its set intervals?
Thank you, Jimmy

Matthias Gross
11/10/2008, 11:34 AM
this fits perfectly to what I said before:

only the end time is delayed

the start time is unaffected by the feed pause duration

again: change the end time = desired time minus feed pause duration, that's all

90reefernyc
11/10/2008, 11:42 AM
OK thxs Mathias will try this and let you know how it goes. Thank you for your patience.

90reefernyc
11/11/2008, 09:19 PM
Hello Mathias IT WORKED!! Thank you.....
Thank you Kidney514 also..