PDA

View Full Version : Marine Infections

WrinkleFreeZone
11/07/2008, 08:52 AM
I have been inspired to begin posting information about marine infections after reading a post over in the "New to the Hobby" forum. Capn_hylinur experienced a severe infection after sustaining what at first appeared to be a trivial injury. Unfortunately, this is not an uncommon problem. It is one that can largely be prevented by some simple things though. One principle would be the use of gloves when you're working in your tank.

My intent here is to educate anyone who's interested in reading about these things. I'm a plastic surgeon with experience treating hand infections and I can draw on the medical literature and maybe explain some things about them. I'm not sure if there is other information on this site about this problem. If there is, I would appreciate it if posters to this would provide the links so that we can all learn.

Gathering accurate information and writing about these infections will take me a little time so stay tuned if you're interested.
-B

acrodave
11/07/2008, 10:38 AM
Do you think you can bulid tolerance or have a high immunity.To most of the stuff.I work in the hobby and i get cuts and scrapes all the time.I have to mess with uncured rock new corals and fish.and even get vermented snails broke off in my fingers and hand.Im not saying im superman but i do get a bit of red and sore but goes away after a few days..Gloves are important ..but i think after care is most important part of it

WrinkleFreeZone
11/07/2008, 10:47 AM
The Vibrionaceae family of bacteria are natural inhabitants of water. Members of this family are largely found in salt water, but there are species that have been identified in fresh water. This family of bacteria includes the genera Vibrio, Plesiomonas, and Aeromonas.