PDA

View Full Version : Powerful Submersible Pumps?

Randy Holmes-Farley
11/30/2008, 12:04 PM
I've been using Iwaki pumps on my system for more than 13 years. In fact, the same exact pumps. I like them just fine, but I
am thinking about power waste these days.

They dump their heat to the room, while I use 8 or more different heaters in the system during winter

So the question is why not use one or more a powerful submersible pumps instead, during the winter, when I want the heat in the water?

So, what do people believe are the most powerful and reliable submersible pumps?

Eheim 1262?
Quiet One 9000? 14000?
Mag Drive 1800?
Maxi Jet 5500?
Ocean Runner 6500?
Others?

TIA

markandkristen
11/30/2008, 12:19 PM
i love eheims but as far as heat i would say the mag would give more heat

sjm817
11/30/2008, 12:21 PM
Wow....RHF asking Vs answering a question!

Randy, it depends on how much flow you want/need. I have had the same thoughts. My sump is in the basement and in the Winter, my heaters run a lot to keep the tank @ 78. My pump is external and air cooled. It seems I am "wasting" a lot of heat from the pump.

You can use submersibles since they are water cooled and will transfer the heat to the water. I prefer Ehiems for their extremely reliable, quiet operation, but the 900 GPH 1262 is as big as they come.

Another option is a water cooled external. The Poseidon/Velocity series pumps are external and are water cooled. They are dead silent have have a very good reputation.

pjf
11/30/2008, 12:35 PM
Steven Pro posted his “Submersible Pump Comparisons” on Web Web Media (http://www.wetwebmedia.com/ca/volume_3/cav3i1/Powerhead_test/powerhead_comp.htm) but his objective was efficiency to avoid heating the aquarium.

A flaw in his analysis is that his calculations were based on zero head. The rankings change at 4 feet of head. Using manufacturers figures, the Ocean Runner pumps appear to be very efficient at 4 feet of head:

<table border>