PDA

View Full Version : Closed Loop


SteveMarin
11/30/2008, 03:14 PM
Can you guys show me a picture of your closed loop tanks without any sand or rocks in it, with just water or just empty. I am thinking about going closed loop on my next tank whether it be a 36"x24"x18" or 36"x36"x27", still haven't decided. So any pictures of your closed loop displays as well as the plumbing and any insight would be helpful.

Thanks,
Steve

Linina
11/30/2008, 05:16 PM
We are in the process of setting up the tank. We have two 1.5" intakes to the dart pump, and the return goes into the tank in two holes which run down to pvc with a bunch of outlets. The lower pvc line will be covered with sand, only the outlets will be visible. We aren't sure yet how well it will work but will likely have it being water tested this week by wednesday (last ball valves arrive tomorow).

http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj17/betsydampier/inside40structure.jpg


In this shot the two white elbows with nothing are the inlets for the Closed Loop pump. The flex pipe split is the returns for the closed loop pump. The other stuff is the drain and sump return on a scwd.
http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj17/betsydampier/backMostlyDone.jpg

SteveMarin
11/30/2008, 05:33 PM
Thanks for posting, anyone got anything else?

SteveMarin
12/01/2008, 02:30 PM
bump