PDA

View Full Version : Overflow Standpipe Question

coolcorals
11/30/2008, 04:37 PM
This is my first reef ready tank. I think the PVC CADLights sent for the Durso standpipe is too short. It's 10" long, which puts the top of End Cap 5" below top edge of overflow. I've posed the question to CAD, but so far no answer.

If you have a CAD 39g Pro, how long are your PVC pipes (one between bulkhead and "T") for both the 1" Durso and 1/2" return?

If no measurements, how tall should the Durso be - should the End Cap with hole be above or below water level in overflow? I assume below. If below, how far?

I want this to work properly without making a lot of noise or mess!

Thanks.

1DeR9_3Hy
11/30/2008, 05:16 PM
5" sounds a little much to me, but i have no experience with cadlights systems. Here is my standpipe for reference, its a little tall but until i have to remove it for some reason it will stay that tall.

http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f80/jgs240/DSCF1419.jpg

coolcorals
11/30/2008, 06:03 PM
Your End Cap is above the water. Based upon photos I've seen and the length of my PVC led me to think it should be below water level! I agree, I think mine is short.

Does it just not matter whether it's above or below water level? Is one configuration preferred over the other?

Thanks for the response and photo.

1DeR9_3Hy
11/30/2008, 06:55 PM
The cap has to be above the water level in order for the durso standpipe to work correctly. If you turn your system on right now with the standpipe that is 5" below the overflow you will have a decent amount of noise and probably a micro bubble problem to boot.

BillyBee
11/30/2008, 08:21 PM
Try http://www.dursostandpipes.com/ explains where and how high.

coolcorals
12/01/2008, 12:45 AM
1DeR9_3Hy: Thanks for the confirmation.

BillyBee: Excellent site for the Durso standpipe, and I had checked there, but missed that piece of info on first read.