PDA

View Full Version : anemone lighting question

somosomo
12/10/2008, 02:24 PM
I just upgraded my 29 gallon reef to a 75 and am considering a pair of skunk clowns and an anemone. I am just starting to do some research on whether this is a possibility based on my lighting.

Currently I have a 260 watt power compact fluorescent 130 watts 10k 130 watts actinic blue. Is this strong enough to keep an anemone under? I know that there are many different species, each with its own requirements regarding lighting. Also how much should i worry about an anemone eating my fish?

I have been keeping my reef for about 4 years. right now it is mostly softies, zoos, and a few LPS. 1 six line wrasse, one lawnmower blenny Approximately 100 lbs live rock, 4 inch DSB, HOB skimmer, and 2 koralia 2s, one koralia 1 for flow.

thanks
nate

somosomo
12/10/2008, 08:46 PM
anybody.

I am looking for input so I dont put an anemone in my tank if I would be unable to raise it.

Toddrtrex
12/10/2008, 09:25 PM
The only one that I would even consider would be a BTA, but even then I think you are on the low side.

Back when I had PCs I kept BTAs (( in my 75 )) under 6*65 (( all 50/50 bulbs )) and they did fairly well.

OrionN
12/11/2008, 05:56 AM
Are you sure that this is 260W and 130W. Is it 26 W and 13 W. It seem to me 390W is alot of light to pack under a 29 g hood.
If it is indeed 390 Watts, you got plenty of light but I think you mean 39W which is not enough light for a host anemone IMO.

Racing1
12/11/2008, 06:25 AM
A BTA would be the only one I would dare to try. I know Some people have luck keeping them under NO lighting.

somosomo
12/11/2008, 10:49 AM
Sorry if i confused anyone. My tank is indeed a 75 with 260 watts. My old tank was a 29.

Thanks for the input. I was thinking of a carpet anemone but because of your help I will be holding off on that a year or so until my system is a bit more stable and bump up my lights to MH.

somosomo
12/11/2008, 10:51 AM