PDA

View Full Version : Which camera a descent price?

yannicksjh
12/11/2008, 08:28 AM
Well, looking at all the awesome pics that everyone has, I decided i wouldn't mind trying some of my own. I do have a camera that we use as our family (everyday camera). Its the Panasonic DMC-TZ5:
http://www.panasonic.ca/english/audiovideo/camerascamcorders/digitalstill/DMCTZ5.asp

I have no experience with photography and can't seem to take a descent shot with this one. Is it the settings, me or the camera?
What are good starting settings for this or any camera? Is it worth for me to buy another camera just for tank shots?

I'm interested in buying a good used camera just for the tank (possibly off ebay or something). What is a descent camera with a good zoom, picture? Please help either with settings or camera suggestion

Thanks everyone!

TitusvileSurfer
12/11/2008, 03:42 PM
The problem is the camera. It is fully automatic and makes all of the photography decisions itself. Buying another camera for tank shots would be ideal, though if you take enough pictures with the DMC-TZ5 I'm sure the camera will get it right eventually.

I have no idea what your budget it. I would recommend a new Canon G10, or if you really love Panasonic, some members around here are touting the DMC-LX3. To make either of these work for a tank, you will need to learn a little photography 101, and a tripod would really help. It is my personal opinion that the LX3 is an excellent camera, but the G10 would be better for tank shots. Either of these would replace your current camera, doing a better job at everything it already does and allowing you to do things it never could. Of course if you have two people, two cameras isn't necessarily a bad thing.

TitusvileSurfer
12/11/2008, 03:48 PM
You double posted threads on this topic, so I will answer the other (more or less same) question here:

<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=13920088#post13920088 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by yannicksjh