PDA

View Full Version : what should i re-replace on my typhoon III?


beaniebeagle
12/15/2008, 12:47 PM
My Typhoon III is about 2 years old
I replaced the 3 stages and the DI in April 2008.
The TDS is rising again

tap 156
RO 25
RO/DI 10

which one should I replace? Or more than one?

its likely due to the plumbing work that was done this summer, extra junk was coming into the pipes due to the increased flow and pressure

Khandurian
12/19/2008, 01:00 PM
Replace the bottom 4. With the numbers you provided it sounds like the DI chamber is almost used up. When my TDS on the RO side start to creep up, I place the order and get them in before it gets too high.

ybenormal
12/25/2008, 10:12 AM
Based on the input TDS, you should be seeing 8 TDS or less after the membrane if you have a 75GPD membrane and 16 TDS or less is you have 100GPD membrane. Looks like your RO membrane is shot. Replacing the DI resin will get you back to 0 TDS for the DI output but the resin will wear out quickly. I'd recommend a new membrane.

bigmatt
01/04/2009, 04:50 PM
So a 100gpd membrane produces a higher tds water than a 75gpd menbrane?

Khandurian
01/04/2009, 07:36 PM
If its a TFC/GE model yes.