PDA

View Full Version : My orp is reading 126 is this right?

reefyguy
12/28/2008, 12:46 AM
This seems low?

Macimage
12/29/2008, 12:04 AM
Yes, that is very low.

Are you sure it's correct? If it is, you should do a water change to improve the number.

If the orp becomes too low, there is not enough oxygen for the fish to live.

Joyce

Billybeau1
12/29/2008, 12:12 AM
That is absolute bunk. I'm sorry Mac, but lets get the facts. :(

reefguy, your orp level has little to do with the oxygen level in your tank.

A water change will not improve the number.

More likely it is a new probe and needs some breaking in. Most ORP probes need a few days to settle in. It will slowly start to rise over the next couple of days and will settle in a week or so.

Make sure to read Randy's articles on ORP and what it means before you take any corrective action.

Good luck. :)

Macimage
12/29/2008, 12:16 AM
Eight years ago when I was a newbie my orp dropped under 100 and all my fish died. Just going on that experience.

A water change and more oxygen would have helped them.

Sorry if I gave any info that is incorrect.

Joyce

moonyguy
12/29/2008, 12:17 AM
I would agree. You might need to recalibrate and let the probe settle in for a week or two before you can take a reading. I started around the same level now it runs about 350-400. I recalibrate about once every 4-6 months. Just wait it out your numbers should climb. :)

Billybeau1
12/29/2008, 12:25 AM
Thats ok Joyce. It's likely you had a major problem that killed your fish but ORP is not really a good indicator of the oxygen level is in a tank.

:)

GeoffM1968
12/29/2008, 05:49 AM
Reefguy, I am not an expert but have done a lot of reading on this and referenced a couple good articles on this:

http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/2004-05/rhf/index.php
http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/2003-12/rhf/feature/index.php
http://www.canadiankoiandpond.ca/articles/article13.html