PDA

View Full Version : High Phosphates in A Cycling Aquarium

brandonb8
12/28/2008, 05:54 PM
Hello.

Sorry if this has been posted before, but I did a google search and found no real answers and the search function seems down at the moment. I am having an issues with high phosphates in my 3 day old tank. I bought a kit just to see where I was at currently and was shocked to see my phosphates over 2.0. I am doing a live rock cycle and have had an ammonia spike and my nitrites are starting to climb (.6ppm). Nitrates are good but my phospates are high. I checked my water source and it was .5ppm. Is it normal to have high phosphates as the live rock die off occurs. Will it reduce itself as the tank completes the cycle. Thanks for the help.

Brandon

MrsHaggis
12/28/2008, 06:20 PM
Hey Brandon,

I'm a total newbie myself but I have read that having an ammonia, nitrite, phosphate spike during the cycle can be normal.

Of course, I'd like someone with a bit more experience than me (shouldn't be too difficult) to confirm this.

Also, are you using RO/DI water? I tested my tap water and was horrified at what was in there (super high in nitrates for instance). You should be able to buy RO/DI water from your LFS or buy a unit to make your own (they vary in price - I just got one for about 150 USD and it has made a huge difference to my water quality).

Good Luck!!

James77
12/28/2008, 06:32 PM
What is your water source-tap water? Are you using RO/DI water?

brandonb8
12/28/2008, 06:38 PM
James,