PDA

View Full Version : Is there a temporary way to hold frags

redvicki
12/28/2008, 07:19 PM
in place on my rocks? My stupid CUC keeps relocating them. Some times it's hard to find them once they are knocked off. I don't want to glue them in place in case I want to move them later. Thanks.

LoyalConvict
12/28/2008, 07:28 PM
you can take some egg crate and zip tie's and make a box to hang on the side of your tank until they grow out and you decide where to place them... i made just a standard tray at first until my snails started to bull-doze them off (as i use LR and not plugs for frags) so took it out added sides and a hinged top

Tswifty
12/28/2008, 09:02 PM
Epoxy putty the plug... In my experience (which is why I stopped using putty) it basically just works like a suction cup, and pops off with little effort... but it would be strong enough to keep a snail from knocking them around.

redvicki
12/28/2008, 09:47 PM
Any special kind of putty? I've never used it before and want to get one that's reef safe.

Tswifty
12/28/2008, 09:54 PM
Everyone raves over Aquamend... I've always just used this stuff with no issues... found it at home depot.

Top item in pic. "Harvey's" is the brand.

http://i287.photobucket.com/albums/ll128/tswifty8/epoxy1.jpg

beachbumva
12/29/2008, 01:31 AM
the aquastick sold for putting your live rock together is the same stuff if you cant get what tswifty has shown you, as he said it comes apart with a tug and very good to use when attempting to make sure coral is going to be happy where your placing it before taking it off the block, they sell it at all the online sites and most lfs

redvicki
12/29/2008, 05:57 AM
Okay beachbumva has caused me to have another question. So when I place my frags should I be taking them off of the plugs and/or rock rubble they come on then glue them to my rock work?

Tswifty
12/29/2008, 02:57 PM