PDA

View Full Version : ATO Question

wardworld
12/29/2008, 12:09 PM
I was originally planning to have my RO container sit higher than my sump (on a stand) and use gravity to auto-top-off my sump. I was planning on putting a float valve in my sump at the appropriate water level to control the flow from the RO. Anyone see any issues with this? The sump is a 100 gal. Rubbermaid stock tank.

billdogg
12/29/2008, 01:34 PM
When (not if - When) the float valve fails (go ahead - take a vacation) you will drain the entire topoff container into the tank.

stugray
12/29/2008, 02:11 PM
I have been using a float valve for over three years now for my ATO, and never had a problem.

One thing to look out for are the ones that have a float made from two pieces of plastic glued together.

I have heard horror stories about the float leaking and filling up with water.

The one I use has stainless steel valve parts & a single piece polypropylene float.

Stu

Harry_Fish
12/29/2008, 02:19 PM
I am in the planning phase of going to a basement sump and using a rubbermaid stock tank.

My thought was to drill an over flow drain in the
stock tank that leads to drain pipe.

That way I would not wake to find a house
full of water is something sticks open.

wardworld
12/29/2008, 02:59 PM
Stu, any idea where you got your float valve????

Doahh
12/29/2008, 03:03 PM
Or have a backup with a sealed container and a tube about a 1/2" above the water level... if the float fails then the tube fills with water making it so no more fresh water can go in till the water drops again... I think this was one of Stus ideas

wardworld
12/29/2008, 03:06 PM
Sounds like a good idea, but I'm afraid I'd need to see it to get my head around the idea....:)

oldsaltman
12/29/2008, 03:07 PM