PDA

View Full Version : zoo's getting loosing there POP!

jeninjohnk
01/01/2009, 08:32 AM
lots of flow,400w 20k's. some of my zoo's are loosing there POP. no growth issuse just the color is not as intense as it was. example- i have red ring jokers. the ring is gone and the purple+green skirt is looking bland/muddy. feed oyster eggs once a week(don't no if this helps),little of rods food. just thouht i'd bounce it off the zoo experts. thanks for your help

MUCHO REEF
01/01/2009, 09:34 AM
I'm no expert, but I'll try to help.

1. How long after you purchased them did they begin to lose their "POP"?

2. Where were they placed in reference to height in your tank?

3. Did anything else fade in your tank?

4. How old are your bulbs?

Bulb, ballast and choice of wattage can all have a positive or negative impact on coloration. Why? If you happen to have a polyp/frag/colony which dwells in deeper water in the wild, and you placed it high under those dual 4oo watt bulbs, there's a great chance you will experience fading and/or bleaching and in some cases mortality.

Also, if those polyps were newly received polyps from a system which was drastically different than yours and not properly light acclimated, faded and/or bleaching, change in coloration will occur.
By that I mean, if the previous owner had them placed low under 250 watters and you placed them high under those 400 watters, that will also cause a color shift. I truly think this might be your issue.

400's will yield great/intense shimmering coloration, but there's a trade off, heat issues and possible color shifts if a lower light polyp is placed to close to those 400's.

I hope I'm wrong, but this sounds like what you are experiencing. Maybe you could shed some more light on this for us, Good luck by the way. If you feel the above is true, try moving them lower and leave them there for a few weeks and see what happens. With 400's over your tank, it can't hurt. Just my 2 cents.

Mucho Reef

mfinn