PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice on lighting...

Anemone0524
01/01/2009, 03:35 PM
Hey all - I'm fairly new at this, so pardon me if this is an obvious question. The below T-5 fixtures in 48" are virtually the same price. I'm just wondering what the real difference is between these two units. The people at Drs. F&S couldn't really tell me ( other than the moonlights and number of bulbs).

What would you, the seasoned reefer, get between these two? Or maybe both these fixtures are trash...if so, point me in the right direction.

The tank is a 90gal mixed reef, still being put together.

Thanks!

Nova Extreme T-5 Fixtures w/Lunar Lights
http://a1272.g.akamai.net/7/1272/1121/20051011142912/www.drsfostersmith.com/images/Categoryimages/larger/lg_rd_21106_27696VS.jpg

Current Nova Extreme Pro Saltwater T-5 Fixtures
http://a1272.g.akamai.net/7/1272/1121/20080203165541/www.drsfostersmith.com/images/Categoryimages/larger/lg-32831-44012-fish-supply.jpg

Elan L.
01/01/2009, 03:39 PM
if they are almost the same, but one has moon lights, i would go with the first one IMO, but get everyone elses opinion too.

BTW, there is no such thing as a stupid question especially on this topic.

Anemone0524
01/01/2009, 03:42 PM
yea I agree with you on that, i'm kind of leaning towards the moonlights. hoping someone has had experience with either of them. :D

Elan L.
01/01/2009, 03:45 PM
i dont have those lunar lights but i have a TEK t5 fixture and wish they were built in. i had to buy a seperate ballast and velcro the two moonlight to the fixture lol

Brent RH
01/01/2009, 03:50 PM
I have the bottom light Nova pro extreme. Its a high output light vs the other I don't think is. It will be a very white light. I changed The bulbs to 5x attinic and just one 10k. Oh and I got mine for $100 less than on F&S by googling Nova pro extreme. A small list comes up at the top of the search engine. Hope I was of some help. For sure the bottom light will be brighter

Chris&Mel
01/01/2009, 03:59 PM