PDA

View Full Version : mandarin

Tim Peer
01/13/2009, 10:15 PM
I was given a mandarin as a gift and need to tie a refugium to my system. I'm new to reefing in process of buy a 150 g with sump, skimmer, MH lights where do I get a refugium or do I make one?

kkyyllee
01/13/2009, 10:26 PM
if your lfs takes fish that would probably be the best option, unless it eating frozen food refugium wont immediatly give it the food it needs

chort55
01/13/2009, 10:32 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=14150443#post14150443 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by kkyyllee
if your lfs takes fish that would probably be the best option, unless it eating frozen food refugium wont immediatly give it the food it needs

I totally agree 1500%.... mandarins require tons of food to survive and w/o a currently set up fuge & tank combo of 1+ yrs it doesn't stand a chance unless already eating prepared meals (which I have read is quite difficult, and even still can starve them :() So yeah, honestly do yourself and that beautiful fish a favor and find it a suitable new home quick :(

Please don't take any of that the wrong way, I'd love to have one from the jump to, just know it isn't realistic and nearly impossible to not starve it w/o the proper set up and establishment of pods and other foods for it long in advance of getting one.

Tim Peer
01/13/2009, 10:41 PM
I have a friend with a 90 g established reef of about 2 years with a lot of rock, would this work?

koranAngel
01/13/2009, 10:46 PM
i had one as well (beautifull fish n colours)
but being a learner in marine tank
it died within 2 weeks just as some1 said on this site due to lack of pods in an new tank

2yr old tank should work but leave it the experts on the site to ask

koranAngel
01/13/2009, 10:47 PM
*answer

Mike31154
01/13/2009, 10:47 PM