PDA

View Full Version : Natural sunlight. Good or bad?

wuster77
01/15/2009, 08:09 PM
Anyone know anything about using natural sunlight in a reef tank? I am new with this and was wondering if it can be used since I can get a least a few hours of natural sunlight through a window if I just open the blinds.

Thanks.

stylolvr
01/15/2009, 08:18 PM
Any natural sunlight is beneficial. There are people who use only natural sunlight for their tanks with great success. Have no fear about extra algae, as nutrients are the true source. Keep the water params good, and let the corals enjoy the sun!

Post pics!

redfishsc
01/15/2009, 08:32 PM
I personally would not hesitate to light my tank with natural sunlight: you sure can't beat the electric bill when you do that!

Since I live in an apartment, it's not an option (well, and carving out for a solar light for a nano is a bit overkill anyhow).

I would want to supplement with blues/actinics, however. You should be able to grow SPS like mad.

wuster77
01/15/2009, 10:04 PM
Oh wow. I guess free light upgrade coming right up!! Thanks guys. I'll give it a try when I get my new frags this weekend.

BTW, redfish, I was wondering how high up you are placing your acropora. I am not sure how high of a light intensity they actually require. I have 6x18w T5s, but I can only place them 6-12inches from the surface (although most of my rocks are about a foot from the surface). Is that any good (don't factor in the possible sunlight at the moment)?

Thanks.

Zebodog
01/15/2009, 10:08 PM
Natural sunlight is the prefered light source of wild corals :)

m8j4c
01/15/2009, 10:30 PM
I imagine that the corals wouldn't keep the same bright colors though right???
plus with "store bought" lights, you can enjoy your photo period a little more and adjust it to your schedule.

wuster77
01/15/2009, 10:42 PM
m8j4c, any reason why they won't keep the colors?

IFbettas
01/15/2009, 10:58 PM