PDA

View Full Version : Who uses kalkwasser only?

sethdunne
02/11/2009, 02:02 PM
I recently started adding more SPS to my 12gal Nano and have some interest in switching from two-part supplements to kalk.
I go crazy reading through all of the technical stuff on the reef chem. forum. I get the basics but I'm trying to keep it simple.

Is there anyone who just adds kalk to their ATO, and/or sumps? I guess I need to know if those of you who do, do you also end up having to add anything else to keep PH and Alk in check.

I suppose what I want to hear is "no, just kalk in my sump/ATO has worked fine for supplementing calcium" But I understand that this is not that easy. I'm trying to avoid pricey reactors/CO2 and all that goes along with it.

On the other hand maybe some of you have the opinion that it is better in a smaller tank, to just stick with 2-part additives (currently I use Kent Nano A&B)?

Anyway, I'm new to the idea of using kalk and just looking for some feedback, again trying to keep it simple (yeah, I know, nothing's simple about keeping reef tanks).

nanojg
02/11/2009, 02:43 PM
really depends on how much sps and how much evaporation

nanojg
02/11/2009, 02:46 PM
In my 180 I had a lot of sps and a couple clams. I had 3-4 gallons of evap a day and I used only saturated limewater in the ATO, but I still had to add extra 2 part.

cthedaytrader
02/11/2009, 03:06 PM
I have a GEO kalk reactor hooked up to my 20GL and my tank is heavily stocked with sps. Since I added it my alk, PH and ca are much more consistent. I dont really add two part unless i need to make minor adjustments, kalk is mainly for maintaining not really to raise them right away.