PDA

View Full Version : GFO or Rowaphos?

macreefster
02/15/2009, 07:33 AM
i am looking to add a phosphate reactor to my tank. i think i've narrowed it down to either Bulk Reef Supplies single reactor with their high capacity GFO or going with a ViaAqua reactor using rowaphos. the latter is less expensive, but not sure if the GFO is better or not. any suggestions would be appreciated.

HighlandReefer
02/15/2009, 08:57 AM
Are your running carbon now?

Randy Holmes-Farley
02/15/2009, 09:36 AM
the latter is less expensive

Rowaphos is less expensive?

macreefster
02/15/2009, 09:56 AM
i am just running carbon in filter bags now, but will putting it in a reactor soon.

sorry randy, i meant that the the set up with the via aqua reactor and rowa
phos is less expensive than the BRS reactor with their HC gfo.

i am new to phosphate reactors and gfo. the reactors themselves are quite simple, but i am not sure what rowaphos is exactly and if the high capacity gfo is better than it.

Randy Holmes-Farley
02/15/2009, 10:06 AM
I think you'll find that regardless of the initially reactor price, rowaphos will end up costing a lot more in the long run.

I do not know if Rowaphos GFO is any better or worse than any other brand. There is no good comparative data available at the moment.

macreefster
02/15/2009, 10:10 AM
thanks randy...i would assume it doesnt matter what reactor one gets as either rowaphos or gfo (or carbon for that matter) could be run in it.

HighlandReefer
02/15/2009, 02:06 PM
BRS has a dual reactor for a little more than the regular reactor. Using a dual reactor you would not have to change out GFO & carbon at the same time.

Ncastro1981
02/15/2009, 03:01 PM