PDA

View Full Version : DIY acrylic tank

wally43
02/15/2009, 10:45 AM
got a local guy that i can get acrylic sheets from he'll cut them exactly how i want so thats nice i've been planning this for a while now so figured i'd get ur input, its gunna be a mantis tank so 1/2" acrylic should do fine, dimensions are 20"x20"x20", a lil cube for her with prolly 5inch sand bed, getting 3 pieces at 20"x20" and 2 at 20"x19" for the sides, so its gunna be 20 1/2" tall but whatever, gunna use weld-on #16 since its a little thicker and this is my first time building a tank so should be easier to work with, so heres how its gunna go
put the bottom down glue the back on then the two sides on and last the front piece then let that sit for a couple minutes to harden good, then i'm getting 3 pieces at 3"x20" and i'll have to cut one down to fit but i'm gunna glue them on top for bracers along the sides and the front, so either i'm gunna just cut one down to 14" or was thinking about angling the bracers ya know what i mean so i would have to angle all the 3" pieces on the ends so they would go together perfect, just looking for some input on all this hope i'm getting everything but hope you'll help too
wally

chrismunn
02/15/2009, 10:59 AM
i would try to get the top flange (3 pieces - 3x20) in one whole piece that covers all 4 sides. this is much more effective for bracing, although on a tank with those dinensions, and using 1/2" material you should be fine without the extra bracing. also, if you miter the corners of the top braces then its almost pointless to add them becasue your essentially making the joint for those braces line up with the joints on the vertical viewing panes. but it will help to prevent bowing. in the vertical panes.

i think most of the people framiliar with acrylic fabrication here will suggest that you use something like weld-on #4 instead of the #16.

wally43
02/15/2009, 11:10 AM