PDA

View Full Version : Help Selecting new Nano Aquarium

davidungaro
02/22/2009, 06:51 AM
So I admit I am new to reefs. Which is why I am here I suppose :)

Currently I just keep a freshwater tank - and I am looking to get a reef setup. Due to space considerations, and negotiations with the wife, I am limited to a nano setup in the 20-30 gallon range.

I was at my LFS yesterday, in Garner, NC and got a ton of great information from the owner there. She was great!

My choices are:
[list=1]
Oceanic BioCube 29
JBJ Nano 28 w/ HQI
EcoCube
[/list=1]

1. My LFS sells the BioCubes and they look great. I've read good things on the forums about them and they look to be modifyable (pumps, powerhead, skimmer, etc).
QUESTION: Am I limited with the species of coral/inverts that I can keep in the BioCube because of the light setup that comes standard?

2. The Nano with HQI lights is more expensive than the BioCube but has what appears to be a much better lighting system.
QUESTION: With the higher power lights will I run into a situation where the water is too warm and I need to add a (costly?) chiller into the equation?

3. EcoCubes can come with HQI pendants or Nova Extreme T-5 units to go above them for a better lighting situation. I am not sure I like the open-top design - seems like a recipe for disaster.
QUESTION: Are these "open top" or is there a glass cover across the entire cube?

I want to get into the hobby but I don't want to limit myself with the choice I make right now. If the Nano w/ HQI lights is the best choice, but I need a chiller - then I'll just build it out that way to start and spend a bit more money (don't want to but will).

Looking to the power of the internet / forums to help me decide.

THANKS!

David
Raleigh, NC

Fish_wiz2
02/22/2009, 07:12 AM